Below Header Govt Ad

Restrictions to be imposed on travellers from 3 countries: DMET

Bhubaneswar: Amid rising in cases of Covid variant in India, restrictions will be imposed on travellers coming from three countries to Biju Patnaik International Airport in Bhubaneswar,  informed Rama Raman Mohanty informed Chief of Director of Medical Education & Training (DMET) of Odisha.

Reportedly, the three countries include: South Africa, Botswana and Hongkong.

The travellers will have to undergo COVID-19 test mandatorily. If necessary the traveller will have to remain under isolation for 10 days.

In case one traveller is found positive, the samples will be sent to detect the variant, added DMET chief.

It is to be noted that British experts have sounded the alarm over a new Covid variant believed to have emerged in ‘Botswana’ that is the most mutated version of the virus yet. It has already been spotted in three countries, suggesting the variant is more widespread. Three infections have been detected in Botswana to date and six in South Africa — where variant surveillance is more robust. One case has also been spotted in a 36-year-old man in Hong Kong who recently returned from the continent, the report added.

It carries 32 mutations, many of which suggest it is highly transmissible and vaccine-resistant, and has more alterations to its spike protein than any other variant.

Changes to the spike make it difficult for current jabs to fight off, because they train the immune system to recognize an older version of this part of the virus.

Also read: New Botswana variant is most mutated version of Covid

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.