Below Header Govt Ad

Four Odia players part of India Women’s Asian Champions Trophy, Deep Grace Ekka named Vice-Captain

Bhubaneswar: Four women hockey players from Odisha have found place in the 18-member Indian Hockey squad for upcoming Women’s Asian Champions Trophy.

The Woman’s Asian Champions Trophy is being scheduled to be held in Donghae, South Korea from December 5-12.

The Four players Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Marina Kujur from Odisha will represent the national team at Donghae in South Korea.

Goalkeeper Savia Punia to lead the India women’s hockey team and the experienced defender Deep Grace Ekka will be the Vice-captain.

The team includes goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu and defenders Udita, Nikki Pradhan, Gurjit Kaur, who were all part of the Tokyo Olympics squad. The midfield includes Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Nisha, Monika, Neha, Jyoti who played for India at the Tokyo Olympics.

The forward line will see two-time Olympian Vandana Katariya lead the charge with Navneet Kaur who was part of the Tokyo Olympics squad. Forwards Rajwinder Kaur, Mariana Kujur and Sonika too have been named in the team.

Navjot Kaur and youngster Suman Devi Thoudam have been chosen as alternate players (AP), who will be permitted to play only if there is an injury or someone in the 18-member squad is ruled out of the tournament due to Covid-19.

Also Read: Savita to lead India women’s hockey team as Rani Rampal rested

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.