Karnataka: 11 MLAs submit resignation

Bengaluru: In a big jolt to the coalition government in Karnataka, as many as eight Congress and three Janata Dal Secular MLAS submitted their resignations to the office of the Speaker in his absence on Saturday.

The legislators who submitted their resignations include H Vishwanath, Narayan Gowda Gopalia (all from JDS) and Congress MLAs -Mahesh Kumthalli, BC Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Shivaram Hebbar, ST Somashekar, Muniratna, Pratap Gowda and Byrathi Basavaraj.

Sources said, eight of these MLAs have visited Raj Bhavan to meet the Governor and update him about the development.

“I was supposed to pick up my daughter that is why I went home, I have told my office to take resignations and give acknowledgement that 11 members resigned. Tomorrow is leave so I will see them on Monday,” Karnataka Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar told ANI.

With the resignations, the coalition government’s numbers will reduce to 105 in an Assembly where the majority mark currently is 113. However, the government would still not fall as the majority mark would also come down.

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy is now in the USA visit. He will reportedly arrive here tomorrow.

Also Read: Union Budget 2019 : Petrol, Diesel To Become Costlier

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.