Below Header Govt Ad

Odisha’s newly elected MPs take oath in Lok Sabha

Bhubaneswar:  The first session of the newly elected Lok Sabha began with the members taking oath on Monday. As many as 16 MPs from Odisha took oath as the members of the 17th Lok Sabha in different languages this evening.

While most MPs from the state chose Odia, Chandrani Murmu, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP from Keonjhar, surprised everyone by taking the oath in Santali language. Murmu happens to be the youngest Parliamentarian in India.

Balasore MP and Union Minister of State Pratap Chandra Sarangi took the oath in Sanskrit.

Senior BJD leader and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahatab took the oath in Odia. He has also been elected in the panel of Speaker.

Kandhamal MP Achyutananda Samanta, Aska MP Pramila Bisoyi, Nabrangpur MP Ramesh Chandra Majhi , Bhadrak MP Manjulata Mandal, Jajpur MP Sarmishtha Sethi, Dhenkanal MP Mahesh Sahu, Jagatsinghpur MP Rajashree Mallick, Puri MP Pinaki Mishra and Berhampur MP Chandra Sekhar Sahu also took oath in Odia.

Similary, former Union Minister and Sundergarh MP Jual Oram, Bhubaneswar MP Aparajita Sarangi and Kalahandi MP Basant Panda also preferred Odia language to take the oath.

The only Congress MP from Odisha, Saptagiri Ulaka, who has been elected from Koraput Parliamentary constituency, took oath in English.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister and Leader of the House Narendra Modi was among the first who took the oath.

Also Read: Cops Suspended For Thrashing Tempo Driver In Delhi

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.