BJP ousts Tripura’s Sarkar after 20 Years

KalingaTV News Network

Agartala:  The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) on Saturday registered a landslide victory in Tripura Assembly elections.

The saffron party along with its regional ally won as many as 43 Assembly seats out of total 59 seats.

With this thumping victory, the BJP ousted Manik Sarkar-led Left government that had been in power in the state for more than two decades.

The 69-year-old CPI-M leader Sarkar had ruled the Nort-East state for four consecutive terms since 1998.

On February 18, Tripura voters cast their franchise for 59 of 60 Assembly seats. Election in one seat was cancelled due to the death of a CPI-M candidate.

Even in Nagaland, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), which has an alliance with BJP, won 29 Assembly Seats out of 60 seats.

However, Meghalaya witnessed a hung Assembly as no political party was able to secure the required seats to form the government.

In a series of tweets on poll outcomes of Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya assembly elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi extended his gratitude to the people of these states for supporting the good governance agenda and ‘Act East Policy’ of BJP and its allies.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.