India Covid Surge: Mandatory 7-day quarantine for international travellers

New Delhi: All international passengers travelling to India will undergo mandatory home isolation for a week from today. The Covid guideline was revised in order to curb the rapid spread of Omicron variant of the virus.

Reportedly, the seven-day home quarantine will be followed by an RT-PCR test on the eighth day.

The travellers who will come from ‘at-risk’ countries have to submit samples for Covid testing on arrival and then are required to wait for the results at the airport before leaving or taking a connecting flight. Those who test positive will be sent to an isolation facility.

However if they test negative, they need to follow the process of home quarantine and if again found with same negative report they have to further self-monitor their health for the next seven days.

The passengers are also required to upload the results of the RT-PCR test conducted on the 8th day on the Air Suvidha portal.

List of at-risk countries include the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, Israel, Congo, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia and Zambia.

For flights from countries that are not on the ‘at-risk’ list, two per cent of the passengers picked randomly, will be tested on arrival.

Notably, all travellers will have to upload a negative RT-PCR report of the test conducted within 72 hours of the beginning of the journey.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.