CJI administers oath to four new Supreme Court judges

New Delhi: The Chief Justice of India (CJI) Ranjan Gogoi administered the oath of office to four new judges of Supreme Court today.

Those judges who were sworn in today are, Justices B.R. Gavai, Surya Kant, Aniruddha Bose and A.S. Bopanna.

After the swearing in of the new judges the apex court has attended its full strength in terms of the number of judges which now stands at 31.

Notably, the apex court has reached its full strength for the first time since 2008, when the Parliament increased its total sanctioned capacity from 26 to 31.

On Wednesday, President Ram Nath Kovind had issued warrants of appointment of Justices Gavai, Kant, Bose and Bopanna as apex court judges.

The names of Justices Bose and Bopanna were earlier returned by the Centre to a five-member apex court collegium headed by CJI, citing seniority and representation of regions as the reasons.

However, on May 8, the five-member collegium had reiterated its recommendation to elevate Justices Bose and Bopanna, observing that nothing adverse has been found against them.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.