Sri Lanka: 28 Cabinet Ministers take oath today

Colombo: President Maithripala Sirisena administered the oath of office to as many as 28 cabinet ministers here in Sri Lanka on Thursday.

The swearing-in comes after leader of United National Party (UNP) Ranil Wickremsinghe took over as Prime minister on Sunday.

Most of the ministers who were there in Wickremsinghe government before October 26 have retained their portfolios.

Thilak Marapana has been appointed as the Foreign Minister while Mangala Samarweera retained the Finance portfolio.

Wickremsinghe has kept with himself the portfolio of national policies, economic affairs, resettlement and rehabilitation and northern development.

The President heads the cabinet and holds the Defence, Mahaweli Development and Environment portfolios.

Sirisena had earlier fired Wickremesinghe, accusing his government of failing to seriously investigate the assassination plot.

Also Read: Pakistani Activist Asma Jahangir Awarded UN Human Rights Award 2018

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.