Ranil Wickremesinghe takes oath as new Sri Lankan Prime Minister

Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in by President Maithripala Sirisena, who sacked him on October 26 and triggered a power tussle that brought the country's government to a standstill

Colombo: United National Party’s (UNP) leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in as the new Prime Minister of Sri Lanka today morning. This brought an end to a 51-day power struggle that crippled the island country into a constitutional crisis.

The 69-year-old leader was sworn in by President Maithripala Sirisena. It was Sirisena who had sacked Wickremesinghe.

Wickremesinghe had refused to step aside since being sacked by in late October and replaced by former leader Mahinda Rajapakse.

Sri Lanka had drifted without a functioning government for nearly two months as the rival factions jostled for power in parliament and the courts.

Sirisena had vowed to never reappoint Wickremesinghe as prime minister under his watch.  Sirisena had publicly castigated in speeches in recent weeks

Wickremesinghe, the UNP leader had refused to bow down stating that his sacking was illegal. Wickremesinghe’s re-appointment comes a day after Rajapakse stepping down yesterday. The Lankan Supreme Court had deemed Mahinda Rajapakse’s premiere position untenable.

According to media reports, a new Cabinet will be sworn in on Monday. The Cabinet will consist of 30 members and include six Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) parliamentarians.

Also Read: Mahinda Rajapaksa Resigns As SL President, Wickremesinghe To Take Oath Tomorrow

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.