Want To Tweak Your Instagram Privacy Settings? Read On
Social Media has become an inseparable part of modern life. Almost everyone is on social networking sites viz. Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. Although came much later, but Instagram gained immense popularity due to its pictorial and user-friendliness.
However, there are many who are concerned about the privacy issues on Instagram. Being a social networking site, it is not free from security and privacy concerns. Read on to find out ways you can adopt to control your Instagram privacy settings without deactivating or deleting your account.
- Making Your Account Private:
Setting your account to private is the best thing you can do to to maintain the privacy of your posts. By default, your Instagram account is public which implies that anyone can see your photos, view your profile, see what photos you’ve liked, read your comments, etc. Setting your account to private mode instantly make your Instagram account private. It means that only people who follow you will be able to see your content, including photos, videos, comments, likes, etc. But in case they want to follow your account, they can do it by getting your permission.
To set your account to private mode, open the Instagram app and tap the Profile icon at the bottom of the screen (it looks like a person). In the upper right-hand corner, hit the three dots icon to enter the options page. Scroll down a bit, and you’ll see a setting labeled “Private Account.” Tap the switch there to make it blue.
A box will pop up asking your confirmation to make your account private . Go ahead and simply hit “OK” and your account is instantly private.
- How To Remove Followers:
If your account is public, you can only block people in order to prevent them from following you or viewing your pictures. Let’s see how.
If you wish to block followers, go to the Followers list. To the right side of each follower is a three dot icon. Tap on it and then select Remove. Removing a follower from a private account does not notify the user that you’ve removed them. You will no longer appear in their feed and the only way they’ll be able to view your stuff is if they send you another follow request and you accept
- How To Block Followers:
Once a user is blocked by you on Instagram, he will not be able to see your profile anymore. If you want to block a follower, go to your followers’ page and click on the name of the person you want to block. You’ll be taken to that person’s profile. Hit the three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner of that person’s profile
A pop-up menu with a bunch of options will appear at this option. The first one is “Report…” which is a tool you can use if the person is harassing you in some manner. If that’s not the case, the second option is Block. Go ahead and hit that. Afterward, a confirmation dialog will pop up. Hit “Yes, I’m sure” and that person is blocked.
- Use Of Hashtags:
People use hashtags on Instagram so that others can get their posts on feed while using similar search terms and find photos connected to that tag. But if you don’t want just anyone to be able to see your posts, how should you use hashtags?
If your account is private, you can still use hashtags. However, only your approved followers will be able to see the photos. If a person who doesn’t follow you views in the feed for a hashtag that you’ve used, your content won’t appear in that feed. So hashtags are safe if your account is private.
- Stop Suggesting Your Profile To Others:
You must have noticed a section where Instagram suggests people to you that you might want to follow. This also implies that Instagram is also suggesting your profile to other people, whom you may or may not know.
Luckily, you can turn this feature off. However, you can only do this from the Instagram site, not the mobile app. You can visit Instagram.com using your mobile browser or desktop browser. Head to Instagram.com via your browser of choice and click the profile button in the very top right. Select Edit Profile, which appears in a box right next to your username.
At the bottom of the page you’re on now, is a section titled “Similar Account Suggestions.” The checkbox should be checked, but you want to un-check it. Once you’ve done so, hit the blue Submit button and that’s it: you will no longer be suggested to other Instagram users.
- How To Customise Comments:
You can turn off unsavory comments on particular posts in such a way that it will appear in your feed but no one can comment on it or read the previous comments.
To do so, go to the page of the post you want to moderate. Tap the three dots icon at the top of the screen and then hit “Turn Off Commenting.” No one will be able to comment on the post going forward, and any comments that were already made are hidden.
If you do the same steps again, you can turn commenting back on. This not only enables people to comment again, but it also unhides the previous comments. The only way to completely remove comments from a post is to delete each one manually.
You can save yourself some work by tweaking your commenting keyword filters. By default, Instagram automatically deletes comments that use certain offensive terms (Instagram does not disclose what those terms are) but you can customize your own keywords. For example, you can make it so any comment with the word “snow” is automatically blocked.