New WhatsApp Feature Prevents Users From Saving Display Pictures
New Delhi: After focusing on utility features, Facebook-owned messaging giant WhatsApp is planning to update security features to enhance the privacy of users.
WhatsApp has long been providing its users an option to save, copy, and export profile pictures of their contacts. However, it is now ditching it as part of an effort to make things even more private.
After introducing a feature that prevents non-contacts from adding users into groups, the company is now gearing up to prevent users from saving the profile photos of other WhatsApp users in their contact list.
Recently, the company had disabled screenshots of chats in the recent beta version.
The option to save display pictures (DPs) has been removed from WhatsApp’s latest beta (version 220.127.116.11) for iPhone just a few weeks after removal from the Android beta.
The feature is available in WhatsApp’s iOS and Android beta version right now.
However, the new highlight may not be that great because users may still take a screenshot of profile pictures and save it on their phones. For ensuring complete privacy, WhatsApp has to disable screenshots for profile pictures as it did for chats.