Vice Presidential election today; result by 7 pm

KalingaTV News Network

Vice Presidential ElectionNew Delhi: Voting for the Vice Presidential elections will take place at the Parliament House complex between 10 AM and 5 PM today.

Members of Parliament will use special pens for exercising their franchise in the election.

The counting of votes will begin soon after the polling and the results will be declared by 7 PM. The one who bags 50 per cent plus one vote of the total valid votes cast will win the poll.

NDA candidate M Venkaiah Naidu is pitted against opposition parties’ nominee Gopal Krishna Gandhi. The NDA, which has a majority in both the Houses, is expected to win easily and place Naidu as the next Vice President of India.

The Electoral College for vice presidential election consists of elected and nominated members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. No whip can be issued by political parties as the election is through a secret ballot.

The term of the incumbent Hamid Ansari, who has held the post for two consecutive terms, is coming to an end on August 10.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.