Kalinga TV
Kahe Thik Dekhaye Thik


Venkaiah Naidu inducts Odisha’s Santali as medium of communication in Rajya Sabha


KalingaTV News Network

Bhubaneswar: Vice-President of India and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu formally inducted the interpreters of five more language including Odisha’s Santali in Upper House on Tuesday.

Naidu inducted the interpreter of Santali along with four other languages – Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani and Sindhi – after completion of their thorough training.

With the induction of the five new languages, the total number of languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution has now risen to 22.

The Members of the Parliament (MP), following such a move, can communicate in their respective languages in the Upper House while taking part in the House proceedings henceforth from the forthcoming Monsoon Session of the Parliament.

As per media reports, the Upper House of Parliament had earlier established simultaneous interpretation service for 12 languages Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu out of the 22 Scheduled languages enshrined in the Constitution of India.


You might also like