Third Edition Of Odisha Tennis Premier League Begins

Bhubaneswar: The 3rd edition of Odisha Tennis Premier League (OTPL) was inaugurated today by Governor of Odisha Prof. Ganeshi Lal along with Secretary of Sports & Youth Services, Vishal Kumar Dev.

The league, under the aegis of Odisha Tennis Association has 32 top ranking AITA players from across the nation and 32 junior players competing in this 5 day tournament. The players have been divided into 8 teams as per the existing format. The 8 teams are Bhubaneswar Warriors, Cuttack Conquerors, Puri Wavers, Kendrapara Contenders, Jajpur Shooters, Bhadrak Victors, Capital Kings and KIIT Killer Bees who will be battling it out to win the coveted OTPL Season 3 trophy.

“Started as an experiment in 2017, this league has grown exponentially in these 3 years. As many international players will be participating in the event, this will be a huge opportunity for local players to compete with them and learn from the experts. This year we have introduced 32 junior players who will get to learn the tricks from professionals and play alongside them”, said Tournament Director, Dilip Mohanty.

OTPL is the brainchild of Neelachal Sports Foundation based in Delhi. It is currently being held in KIIT Tennis Grounds, Campus 8 of KIIT University. The tournament will conclude on December 8.

Also Read: FIFA Delegation Satisfied With Bhubaneswar’s Preparation For U 17 Women’s World Cup

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.