Surjya Narayan Patro elected as Odisha Assembly Speaker

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJD leader and Digapahandi MLA Surjya Narayan Patro has been elected as the new Speaker of Odisha Assembly uncontested today.

Patro, voted in majority by the House as Opposition parties had not recommended any other candidate’s name to the Assembly Secretary to contest him for the post.

Earlier in the day, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik tabled the proposal for Patro which was supported by the Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukha. Later, Barchana MLA  Amar Prasad Satpathy who is the Pro-tem Speaker invited Patro to assume the charge of Speaker.

Soon after Patro’s election to the post, Naveen Patnaik and senior Congress leader Narasingha Mishra congratulated him.

Notably, Patro remained MLA for 4 times from Mohana Constituecy and three times from Digahapahandi constituency. He also became minister in the Naveen Patnaik government for several occasions in the past.

Also Read: Naveen Patnaik Invites Modi To His Swearing-In Ceremony On May 29

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.