Srikant Jena resigns from all other committees of Odisha PCC

Bhubaneswar: In a major setback for the Odisha unit of Congress, senior leader and former Union Minister Srikant Jena resigned from all other committees of Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) on Sunday.

Three days after he was removed as the chairperson of Congress Manifesto Committee for Assembly election in Odisha by All India Congress Committee (AICC) president Rahul Gandhi, Jena resigned as the member of Congress core and campaign committees. A much junior leader Ganeswar Behera, a former minister and OPCC vice-president, was appointed in his place on December 6.

Srikant, meanwhile, is said to have informed about his resignation from all other committees of Odisha PCC to Rahul Gandhi and Odisha Pradesh in-charge Jitendra Singh.

The former Union Minister was not in good term with his party leaders including OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik ever since he proposed that the Congress party, if comes to the power in Odisha, should select candidates for the chief minister and two deputy chief ministers from OBC/SEBC communities and confiscate the property of persons engaged in illegal mining in the state.

Jena’s removal from the chairperson of Congress Manifesto Committee was speculated to be a move to sort out the rift between the OPCC president and Jena. However, the latter’s resignation from all other committees of Odisha PCC now revealed that the rift within the state unit of Congress has turned uglier.

Also Read: Parliament Winter Session: BJD To Raise ‘Special Category Status’ Demand For Odisha

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.