Rajiv Kumar to Succeed Panagaria as NITI Aayog Vice Chairman

KalingaTV News Network

Rajiv KumarNew Delhi: In a major development, the union government named renowned economist Rajiv Kumar as the next Vice Chairman of NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog on Saturday night.

Kumar will succeed Arvind Panagariya, the first Vice Chairman of the NITI Aayog, who had recently resigned from his post.

Kumar holds a D Phil in Economics from Oxford and a PhD from Lucknow University. Currently, he is a senior fellow at the Centre for Policy Research, a non-governmental think tank on public policy based in New Delhi.

Earlier, Kumar was Secretary General of the FICCI and had also served as Director and Chief Executive of the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER).

He also held senior positions in the the Asian Development Bank, the Indian Ministry of Industries, and the Ministry of Finance.

The government also appointed Dr Vinod Paul, a pediatrician at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences as a member of the NITI Aayog. Dr Paul has done substantial work in public health.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.