Presidential Election: Ballot Box Reaches Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: The ballot box for the upcoming Presidential Election reached Bhubaneswar on Wednesday.

Reportedly, the ballot boxes have arrived in all the states except for Himachal Pradesh. The ballot boxes were flown on a separate air ticket and they are kept beside the seat of AROs under personal supervision.

The ballot boxes have been taken to Odisha Legislative Assembly amid tight security from Biju Patnaik International Airport. The team of Election Commission of India (ECI) has also arrived in Odisha.

The Presidential elections will be held on July 18 following which the counting will take place on July 21.

It is pertinent to mention that BJP-led NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu and Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha are contesting for the post of President.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) started distributing ballot boxes, paper pens, and other sealed materials on Tuesday. The two-day exercise will be supervised by the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar and Election Commissioner (EC) Anup Chandra Pandey. The sealed materials were handed over to the assistant returning officers (ARO) of the state and Union Territories after their inspection was completed.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.