President nominates Raghunath Mohapatra, Sonal Mansingh and 2 others to Rajya Sabha

KalingaTV News Network

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday nominated sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra, classical dancer Sonal Mansingh,  former Bharatiya Janata Party MP Ram Shakal and author Rakesh Sinha to the Rajya Sabha.

Mohapatra, an internationally architect and sculptor from Odisha, had received the Padma Shri and the Padma Bhushan.

Padma Vibhushan winner Mansingh is an acclaimed Odissi and Bharatanatyam dancer. She has founded the Centre for Indian Classical Dances, in Delhi in 1977.

Sinha is a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh leader, author and columnist. He is the founder and honorary director of the Delhi-based think-tank India Policy Foundation. Currently, he is a Professor of Motilal Nehu College of Delhi University and a member of the Indian Council of Social Science Research here.

Shakal is an eminent people’s leader and a public representative from Uttar Pradesh, who has devoted his life for the welfare and well-being of the Dalit community and farmers across the country. He has also been a three-time Member of Parliament, representing Robertsganj constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

The nominees will replace cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar, actor Rekha, businesswoman Anu Agha, and former Attorney General of India K Parasaran.

Article 80(3) of the constitution of India authorises the President to nominate as many as 12 members to the Rajya Sabha who have special knowledge or practical experience in the fields of Literature, Science, Art and Social Service.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

buy ivermectin buy ivermectin for humans