Pratap Deb takes oath as Rajya Sabha MP

Pratap Deb takes oath as Rajya Sabha MPNew Delhi: Senior BJD leader Pratap Deb, who was elected to Rajya Sabha unopposed on May 18, took oath as Member of the Upper House of the Parliament today.

Speaking exclusively to Kalinga TV after taking oath, Deb said, “I am happy that the party and party supremo have sent me to the Rajya Sabha. I will do my best to carry out the responsibility faithfully.”

When asked about his responsibility in handling party affairs in the capital city, the MP said, “That situation in Odisha was different. I am new to the place and the political atmosphere here and need some time to know more about it. However, I will manage everything and work together with my party MPs.”

Deb had filed his nominations on May 15 and was elected unopposed three days after.

The Rajya Sabha seat fell vacant after Bishu Das resigned from the post, following his appointment as the Deputy Chairman of Odisha State Planning Board.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.