Odisha’s Pramod Bhagat, Sports Journalist Sambit Mohapatra Bestowed With SJFI Award

The Sports Journalist Federation of India (SJFI) convened in its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday in Guwahati, Assam and decided to bestow the prestigious SJFI Medal to Odisha’s Pramod Bhagat (SJFI Parathletes of the Year), Sports Journalist Sambit Mohapatra.

Neeraj Chopra, who won India’s lone gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics, was named the SJFI Sportsman of the Year award while weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, who clinched a silver at the quadrennial extravaganza, was adjudged SJFI Sportswoman of the Year.

The Indian men’s team which won the hockey bronze in Tokyo was declared SJFI Team of the Year.

Sumit Antil was declared the SJFI Parathletes of the Year in the men’s category while shooter Avani Lekhra was named the SJFI Parathlete of the Year in the women’s section.

Former legendary cricketer Sunil Gavaskar was conferred with the prestigious SJFI Medal.

OGQ, which has been supporting Indian athletes at the Olympics for more than a decade, won the Special Recognition Award.

A. Vinod (Kerala) as the new SJFI President. Vinod is Deputy Editor (Sports) with The Hindu in Thiruvananthapuram.

The AGM also elected A. Vinod as the new SJFI President. Prashant Keni was named as the Secretary, and Vidyut Kalita is the new Treasurer.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.