Odisha govt felicitates medal winning Indian Athletes

medal winnersBhubaneswar: Odisha government felicitated the Indian Athletes who bagged medals at the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships (AAC) held at Kalinga Stadium, at hotel Swosti Premium here on Monday

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik felicitated 34 medal winning athletes, including three from Odisha – Purnima Hembram, Dutee Chand and Srabani Nanda.

Patnaik handed over cheques of Rs 10 lakh each to the Gold medalists, Rs 7.5 lakh to the Silver medalists and Rs 5 lakh to the Bronze medalists.

Special award was given to Neeraj Chopra, Javelin thrower, who created a meet Record of 85.23 meters.

Sports and Youth Affairs Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera, Commissioner-cum Secretary Vishal Kumar Dev and Director R Vineel Krishna were present during the award presentation ceremony.

Below is the list of the awardees.


Muhammed Anas Y, Ajay Kumar Saroj, G Lakshmanan, Kunju Muhammed, Amoj Jacob, Arokia Rajiv, Neeraj Chopra, Nirmala, Chitra P U, Sudha Singh, Manpreet Kaur, Swapna Barman, Debastree Mazumdar, Jisna Mathew, M P Poovamma and Nirmala


Arokia Rajiv, Tajinder Pal Singh Toor, Anu R and Gopi Thonakal


Jabir MP, Bikas Gowda, Jinson Johnson, Jisna Mathew, Sheena N V, Annu Rani, Purnima Hembram, Merlin K Joseph, Dutee Chand, Himashree Roy and Srabani Nanda.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.