Odisha Govt appoints Asit Tripathy as Development Commissioner

Bhubaneswar: Putting all speculations to the rest, Odisha government on Friday appointed senior IAS officer Asit Tripathy as the next Development commissioner of the state.

Tripathy, a senior officer of 1986 batch, will also be in charges of Principal Secretary Home Department.

Likewise, Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi will assume the additional role as chairman of State Pollution Control Board

Similarly, 1994 batch IAS officer, Ranjana Chopra, Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Cooperation, has been given the additional charge of Odisha State Warehousing Corporation (OSWC) Chairman following the retirement Sangram Keshari Mishra..

Tripathy will take charge from the present Development Commissioner R Balakrishnan who is retiring today.

Names of 1985-batch IAS Gagan K Dhal, the Agriculture Production Commissioner, L.N Gupta, the Additional Chief Secretary of MSME & Nodal Officer, Startup and Suresh Chandra Mahapatra, Forest and Environment Principal Secretary of 1986 batch, were doing the round for the coveted post.

Asit Tripathy was posted as the secretary of the home department and was also given the additional charge of employment training and technical education after he returned from central deputation in April 2015. The state government had promoted him to the rank of Additional Chief Secretary (ACS) in May 2017.

Tripathy, a native of Balangir was born on December 23, 1960. He has completed his M.A in Political Scenic. Besides, he is also an M.Phil and LL.B degree holder.

Also Read: Odisha CM Appreciates SC Directive On Polavaram Project

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.