Odisha forms special development councils in 9 tribal districts

KalingaTV News Network

Odisha forms special development councils in 9 districts
Pic taken from heritagetoursorissa.com

Bhubaneswar:  In a bid to involve tribals in the development process, the state government on Thursday issued official notification for formation of special development councils in nine tribal dominated districts of the state. Odisha is the first state in the country to take such an initiative.

The special development councils have been formed in Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, Sundargarh, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Malkangiri and Nabarangapur, the notification said.

In these nine districts with total 112 blocks, the tribals comprise more than 50 per cent of the total population of the districts.

About Rs 1.5 crores will be allotted to each block, over and above the funds allotted under different schemes, and a total of Rs 175.50 crores will be spent per annum through these councils.

All the 62 tribes of the state including the 13 particularly vulnerable tribal groups (PVTGs) will have representation in these councils.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.