Odisha: BJD to launch membership drive from Sep 2

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) will launch its membership drive programme from September 2, aiming to strengthen its base ahead of civic body polls in Odisha.

Party president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday formed a State-level committee to monitor and coordinate the membership drive of the party.

Patnaik appointed senior party leaders – Prasanna Acharya, Debi Mishra, Pramila Mallick, Sanjay Dasburma, Pratap Deb, Pradeep Panigrahi, Pranab Prakash Das – as the members of the supervisory committee.

Patnaik was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Odisha for a record fifth term in May this year, after BJD registered a landslide victory in 2019 general polls.

Currently, BJD has 112 MLAs out of total 147 seats in Odisha Legislative Assembly. It has also 12 MPs in Lok Sabha and 8 MPs in Rajya Sabha.

Also Read: BJD Appoints District Observers In Odisha


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.