Odisha: Asit Tripathy elected new president of Bhubaneswar Club

Bhubaneswar: Asit Tripathy has been elected as the new president of Bhubaneswar Club, the high-profile club of Odisha located in the capital city. The former Odisha Chief Secretary and present WODC Chairman got 776 votes while his rival Bijay K Patnaik got 498 votes. Accordingly, Tripathy won by 278 votes. The result was received a few minutes ago today.

Both Asit Tripathy and Bijay Patnaik were former Chief Secretaries of the State. Presently Tripathy is the Chairman of the Western Odisha Development Council (WODC).

Election for different office bearers of the Club had been conducted on Saturday and Sunday. Out of the 1854 members of the club 1267 members had casted their votes while 587 members were absent.

Similarly, Mahendra Gupta was elected the Vice President of Bhubaneswar Club. He got 517 votes while senior IAS officer Vishal Ku Dev was elected as the Secretary of the Club.

As per reports, election had been done for the last time in 2013 in Bhubaneswar club. Since then, only selection was being going on to choose the office bearers. However, this time a high-profile fight was witnessed.

Bhubaneswar club was reportedly founded in 1949. In 1950, the King of Khallikote became the first president of the Club. Later, up to 1964 the heads of different Royal families of the State were becoming the President of this club. In 1964 former Chief Minister Biju Patnaik was the president of the club. Since then IAS officers are either getting elected or selected for the president post of the club.

Also read: Mahanadi boat mishap: Videographer Pravat Sinha discharged from SCB
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.