Naveen Patnaik Sworn-In As Odisha CM For Fifth Time

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) President took oath as the Odisha Chief Minister for the fifth time here on Wednesday. He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal at an elaborate swearing-in ceremony at the Idco Exhibition Ground in presence of eminent dignitaries.

Apart from the Chief Minister, the Governor also administered the oath and secrecy to the elected MLAs as ministers, on the recommendation of the Chief Minister.

As per reports, around 5000 guests, including the newly elected legislators and BJD party functionaries, were a part of the ceremony.

Naveen Patnaik’s elder sister and eminent author Geeta Mehta was also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi also took to Twitter and congratulated Naveen Patnaik for his fifth term in office. He wrote, “Congratulations to Shri Naveen Patnaik Ji on taking oath as Odisha’s Chief Minister. Best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people’s aspirations. I assure complete cooperation from the Centre in working for Odisha’s progress. @Naveen_Odisha.”


CM Naveen also took to Instagram and shared a beautiful video reminiscing his bond with the people of Odisha since the last 19 years. He wrote, “It’s a nostalgic and personal journey for me to reminiscence the past 19 years. Today while I take oath of office for the 5th term, I humbly accept the responsibility that comes with the faith my 4.5 crore family members have reposed on me, yet again.”

Noteworthy, the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD emerged as the single largest party in Odisha by winning 112 seats out of the 146 assembly constituencies and 12 out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in the recently concluded general elections.

Also Read: My Successor Will Be Chosen By The People Of Odisha: Naveen Patnaik

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.