Meet Kajal, the first transgender to contest Odisha Assembly elections

Bhubaneswar:  Kajal Nayak became the first transgender to contest the Assembly election in Odisha as the state unit of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) named her in its first phase candidates announced on Saturday.

As per BSP’s announcement, Kajal, a social worker, will contest the forthcoming Odisha Assembly election from Korei assembly seat of Jajpur district.

Pic Credit:
Kajal’s Facebook

Expressing her happiness about the historic decision of BSP, Kajal, who is also the president of Transgender Association of Jajpur, said “I am extremely delighted that the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has decided to field me from the Korei assembly segments of Jajpur district. I am thankful to BSP for showing their faith in me and in the transgender community.”

While speaking about the issues which she will highlight as a politician, Kajal said, “There are many issues in the region which need to be raised along with issues related to the transgender community. I want to raise issues of transgenders along with the issues of the people of the region.”

Meanwhile, the member of the transgender community in the state congratulated her and wished her very best for the upcoming election.

Kajal (27) was born as Kuna Chandra Nayak at Goladia village in Chandbali block of Bhadrak district. She is the youngest among her six siblings.

The then Kuna Chandra started wearing sarees after realizing that she was more a girl than a boy. However, after facing massive protest from his family and friends Kuna Chandra ran away from his house and started living in Paradip.

Pic Credit:
Kajal’s Facebook

Later, she shifted to Jajpur after coming in contact with the members of the transgender community.

Ever since Kuna Chandra became Kajal in 2009, she started social service activities and now is popular in the area having 5,000 friends on Facebook.

Kajal has appeared her Matric examination this year.

Notably, Odisha has 147 assembly constituencies that will go to polls in four phases starting April 11. It will conclude on April 29. The 21 Lok Sabha elections will also be held simultaneously.

The 2019 Elections will be held in Jajpur district on April 29 for wich, the notification will be out on April 2.

Also Read: Odisha CM Congratulates Dutee, Jauna For Shining At Fed Cup Senior Athletics Meet


You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.