Mayurbhanj: BJD Wins Bijatala Zilla Parishad Bypoll

Baripada : The ruling BJD on Friday registered a thumping victory in the by-election to the Bijatala Zilla Parishad Zone No-32 in Odisha’s Mayurbhanj district.

BJD candidate Raghunath Majhi defeated his nearest BJP rival Kutulu Hansda by 4,212 votes.

Majhi polled 8,875 votes, while Hansda got 4,663 votes. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate secured 2,768 votes while the Congress managed to get only 166 votes.

In the 2017 Zilla Parishad elections, the BJP had secured over 7,000 votes followed by the JMM, which had polled over 5,000 votes while the BJD had come third with over 3,000 votes.

The BJP had won from this seat in the last two elections, while the JMM had won once.

Also Read:The Netherlands Team Plays Hockey With KISS Students


You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.