ICC U-19 World Cup 2018: India beat Australia in Final

KalingaTV News Network

Mount Maunganui: India today created history to win Under-19 Cricket World Cup for the fourth time by beating Australia by 8 wickets here in New Zealand.

Chasing the victory target of 217, the Prithvi Shaw-led side made 220 in 38.5 overs for the loss of only two wickets. Opening batsman Manjot Kalra scored an unbeaten 101 while HM Desai made 47 not out. Skipper Shaw and Shubman Gill contributed 29 and 31 respectively.

Earlier Australia won the toss and chose to bat first. The Kangaroos managed to post 216 in 47.2 overs. Middle order batsman Jonathan A Merlo scored 76 but wickets fell in regular interval.

For India, IC Porel, Shiva Singh, KL Nagarkoti, and AS Roy took two wickets each while Shivam Mavi got one.

Manjot Kalra was adjudged Man of the Match, while Shubman Gill received the Player of the Tournament award.

President of India Ram Nath Kovind congratulated the young team for their outstanding performance and clinching the trophy.

Meanwhile, BCCI announced prize money for the wining team and support staff.  Head Coach India U19 Rahul Dravid will be awarded with Rs 50 lakh, while team members and support staff will receive Rs 20 Lakh each, BCCI sources said.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.