Ex-Union Min Chandrasekhar Sahu, 2 senior leaders quit Congress

KalingaTV News Network

Balasore: Bringing in more trouble for infighting-hit Odisha unit of Congress, three of its top leaders including a former Union Minister left the party on Thursday.

The leaders who left are Ex-Union Minister Chandrasekhar Sahu, Ganjam district Congress President Bhagaban Gantayat and AICC member Bikram Panda.

The leaders made an exit after sending a letter to the All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Rahul Gandhi and OPCC President Prasad Harichandan by mentioning the cause thereof as “no future” for them in the party.

In his reaction to media soon after his resignation, Sahu said he was resigning due to the ongoing infighting in the party of which the so called communal elements are taking undue advantage. However, he expressed his grief and shock over quitting the party.

While the outgoing leaders have not made anything clear on their future course of action they are expected to join BJD on April 4. CM Naveen Patnaik is scheduled to visit Berhampur on the same day.

Meanwhile, the State Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare Minister Surya Narayan Patro has welcomed the move of the leader trio. He claimed the Congress Party in Ganjam is on the verge of disappearance due to weak organisational structure and indiscipline. The leader trio had definitely seen good future with BJD and Naveen Patnaik, who have taken several developmental initiatives in the district.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.