Congress dissolves Odisha PCC, Niranjan Patnaik to remain OPCC chief

Bhubaneswar: The Congress on Monday announced dissolution of the Odisha unit and also of all state committees constituted for the recently held Assembly and Lok Sabha  elections.

“The Congress president has dissolved the PCC office bearers and all other committees constituted for recently held assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Odisha with immediate effect,” AICC general secretary K C Venugopal said in a statement.

The president and working presidents of the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee shall remain unchanged, he added.

Notably, the president of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) Niranjan Patnaik had resigned from the post soon after the party’s terrible performance in 2019 Assembly and Lok Sabha polls.

In 2019 elections, the grand old party managed to bag only one Lok Sabha  MP from Koraput  Parliamentary constituency and nine MLAs out of 147 Assembly segments in the State.

Also Read: Odisha CM Demands Rail, Banking, Telecom Services In Maoist-Hit Areas

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.