Kalinga TV
Kahe Thik Dekhaye Thik


CM inaugurates 5th Govt Medical College in Odisha


KalingaTV News Network

CM Naveen inaugurates 5th Govt Medical College & Hospital in Odisha Baripada: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated the Pandit Raghunath Murmu Medical College & Hospital (PRMMCH) at Baripada in Mayurbhanj district, the fifth government-run Medical College and Hospital in Odisha, on Wednesday.

“I dedicate Pandit Raghunath Murmu Medical College & Hospital (PRMMCH) to the people of Odisha. With this, we have realized the long cherished dream of the people of this tribal-dominated district of Mayurbhanj. I am sure that this Medical College & Hospital will provide better health services to the people,” said Patnaik.

Health Minister Pratap Jena, Barabati-Cuttack MLA Debashish Samantaray, Nayagargh MLA Aruns Sahoo and local BJD leaders Sarojini Hembram, Sananda Marandi, Sudam Marndi and others were present on the occasion.

With the inauguration of the hospital, which is named after the great tribal leader-cum-litterateur and linguist Pandit Raghunath Murmu, classes of the first batch of MBBS students for the 2017-18 session started today. Out of the total 100 MBBS students who have already taken admission in the new medical college, 67 are male and 33 female. students have already taken admission.

The medical college, demanded by the locals for the last 40 years, is nearly complete with classrooms, hostel, laboratories and academic buildings. A multi specialty complex comprising intensive care unit (ICU), ventilators, chambers for consultation with doctors, etc has been set up in the medical college hospital premises.

The CM had inaugurated Saheed Laxman Nayak Medical College and Hospital (SLNMCH) in Koraput on Monday.

These two new medical colleges will provide high level of healthcare to the local people, who were earlier forced to travel to far off cities and towns such as Berhampur, Bhubaneswar, Burla, Cuttack and Rourkela for treatment.

With its inauguration, the Baripada medical college has become the fifth state-run medical college and hospital in Odisha.  The existing medical colleges are Shriram Chandra Bhanja (SCB) Medical College in Cuttack, Maharaja Krishna Chandra Gajapati (MKCG) Medical College & Hospital in Berhampur and Veer Surendra Sai Institute of Medical Sciences and Research (VIMSAR) in Burla and SLNMCH in Koraput – the last one inaugurated only two days ago.


You might also like