Brajrajnagar by-poll vote counting to be held amid tight security

Bhubaneswar: The counting of votes in the Brajrajnagar by-poll will be held amid tight security today. The counting has begun at 8 am.

Reportedly, the voting for the by-poll will take place at the Jharsuguda Engineering College.

Earlier on Thursday, Odisha’s Chief Electoral Officer, SK Lohani had informed regarding the time of the vote counting. A total of 20 rounds of counting will be held, added the CEO.

As many as 71.53 percent (1,53,716) of the 2,14,878 eligible voters have exercised their franchise in the by-poll held on May 31 following the death of BJD MLA Kishore Mohanty in December 2021.

The EVM vote counts will be taken up after counting postal ballots. There will be a total of 14 counting tables with three staff at each table.

The CEO further added that the candidates will be allowed to engage agents to supervise the counting process. A counting assistant, a counting supervisor, and a micro observer will be allotted to each table, added reports.

It is pertinent to mention that the results will be announced after each round of counting and are expected to be over by around 3 PM.

Notably, the fate of 11 candidates, including Alka Mohanty of the BJD, Radharani Panda of the BJP, and Kishore Patel of the Congress, have been decided by a total of 2,14,898 voters.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.