BJD wins Balasore Zilla Parishad by-election

KalingaTV News Network

Balasore: The state ruling BJD won the Balasore Zilla Parishad by-poll in zone-26, the results of which were declared on Saturday. BJD’s Kamal Sahoo defeated his nearest rival Parshuram Parida of BJP by a margin of 4117 votes.

Sahoo got 13499 votes while Parida pocketed 9382 votes. Congress candidate Manoj Nayak with 3187 votes was placed on the third place.

Bandana Patra of CPI (M) and Ramakant of Utkal Bharat were the other two candidates who were in the fray for the by-election. They got 97 and 157 votes respectively.

As many as 36,984 voters had exercised their franchise yesterday. However, 534 votes were rejected.

The by-election was necessitated due to the untimely death of BJP’s Binay Kumar Das in a road accident on July 2, 2017.

Recently, BJD had also won two ward by-polls in Paradip and Pattamundai municipalities.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.