BJD Leader Ranendra Swain Appointed As Pro-Tem Speaker

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJD leader Ranendra Pratap Swain has been appointed as the Pro-tem speaker for administering the oath of office to all the newly-elected members of the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Swain is a sixth-time winner from Athagarh constituency and is one of the senior-most leaders of the assembly.

For starters, the Pro-tem Speaker is a temporary speaker who presides over the first meeting after the election. Once the new Speaker is elected, the office of the Pro-tem speaker ceases to exist.

Usually, the senior-most member of the Assembly is unanimously elected to the post by the members of the Legislative Assembly to perform the duty till a permanent Speaker is chosen.

Also Read: Aishwarya Rai Bachchan To Star In Mani Ratnam’s Next

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.