Bikram Keshari Arukha Elected As Odisha Assembly Speaker

Bhubaneswar: MLA Bikram Keshari Arukha been elected as the Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly on Monday.

Reportedly, a special session of the Legislative Assembly took place for the Speaker elections where Arukha was elected unanimously. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had brought a motion to elect Bikram Keshari Arukha as Speaker.

The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs had also supported the proposal.

After the verbal vote, Arukha was announced as the Speaker by Deputy Speaker Rajani Kant Singh.

Notably, he had been elected as the MLA from Bhanjanagar for six times.

It is pertinent to mention that he had filed nomination for the post on June 10. Adding to it, the post of the Speaker of the State Legislative Assembly has been lying vacant after Surya Narayan Patro resigned on June 4 due to health issues.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.