Amar Prasad Satpathy appointed Pro-tem Speaker of Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Former Minister and senior BJD leader Amar Prasad Satpathy has been appointed as the Pro-tem Speaker in the Sixteenth Legislative Assembly in Odisha.

Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal on Wednesday administered the oath to Satpathy to perform the duties of the Office of the Speaker at the sitting of the Assembly at 10 AM on 30th May till the election of the Speaker on 1st June.

The Pro-tem Speaker performs the duties of the office of the Speaker from the commencement of the sitting of the State Assembly till the election of the Speaker.

The main duty of the Pro-tem Speaker is to administer the oath of office to new members of the House. He also enables the House to elect the new Speaker.

Satpathy won from the Barcharna Assembly segment for the sixth term.

Also Read: Odisha : List Of Ministers And Their Portfolios

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.