After BJP, Congress MLA candidate quits party ahead of polls in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In yet another blow to the Congress in Odisha, senior leader and its MLA candidate of Tirtol constituency Bibhu Prasad Tarai resigned from the party this evening. Earlier in the day, Congress MLA candidate from Pipili Yudhistir Samantaray had returned his ticket alleging that Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President Niranjan Patnaik has been conspiring his defeat.

Tarai quit the party expressing his displeasure over ticket distribution. He was upset as he was expecting to get the party ticket for the Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat but the party named him for the Tirtol Assembly segment.

Tarai, who meanwhile, has sent his resignation letter to the OPCC chief, also alleged that the Congress has given party ticket to one who is involved in a murder case and charge-sheeted by the police.

It is worthwhile to mention here that Bibhu Prasad Tarai became the third politician to leave the party even after getting a party ticket to contest the upcoming election.

Earlier, two Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA candidates namelyTusharkanti Behera from Kakatpur and Bhagirathi Sethi from Anandapur had left the party after being fielded on their respective constituencies and joined the Biju Janata Dal (BJD).

Also Read: Congress Leaders Tender Mass Resignation In Odisha’s Balangir

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.