5 YSR Congress MPs resign from Lok Sabha

KalingaTV News Network

New Delhi: In a major political development, all the five Lok Sabha Members of YSR Congress resigned from Lok Sabha on Friday protesting the “failure” of the Modi Government to grant Special Category Status (SCS) to Andhra Pradesh.

Members YV Subba Reddy, PV Midhun Reddy, V Vara Prasada Rao, YS Avinash Reddy and Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy submitted their resignation letters to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

On 31 March, YSR Congress President Y. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy had announced that his party MPs would resign on the last day or Parliament’s ongoing session and stage an indefinite hunger strike at Andhra Bhavan in the national capital if their demand for SCS to Andhra Pradesh was not fulfilled by the Centre.

The YSR Congress and the TDP, which had walked out of the BJP-led NDA, recently gave notices for no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.