Virat Kohli bags top ICC awards

New Delhi: Indian Men’s cricket team captain Virat Kohli makes history by winning top awards of 2018 by ICC on Tuesday.

He won ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year, ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, Captain of ICC Test Team of the Year, and Captain of ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year.

In fact, Virat Kohli has won Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year for two consecutive years now and that in itself is a huge deal.

He was the top run-scorer in Tests with 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08, with centuries in each of South Africa, England, India and Australia.

Kohli also scored 1,202 ODI runs in 2018 at a stunning average of 133.55. He also became the fastest to reach the milestone of 10,000 runs in the format.

On winning the laurels, Kohli said, “It is a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout a calendar year. I am very grateful that I have won it second year in a row. ”

Watch ICC’s tribute to King Kohli here:

Another good news for Team India is that Rishabh Pant won ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year 2018.

Rishabh Pant in Sydney Test Match

He became the first Indian wicket-keeper to score a Test century in England and equaled the record for the most catches taken in a Test, with 11 in Adelaide in December 2018.

ICC Teams of the year 2018

In other news, ICC also released Men’s ODI Team and Test Team of the Year 2018

This is the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year 2018:

Rohit Sharma (India)

Jonny Bairstow (England)

 Virat Kohli (c) (India)

Joe Root (England)

Ross Taylor (New Zealand)

Jos Buttler (wk) (England)

Ben Stokes (England)

Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

Kuldeep Yadav (India)

Jasprit Bumrah (India)

Following is the ICC Test Team of the Year 2018:

Tom Latham (New Zealand)

Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka)

 Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Virat Kohli (c) (India)

Henry Nicholls(New Zealand)

RishabPant (India)

Jase Holder (West Indies)

Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

Nathan Lyon (Australia)

Jasprit Bumrah (India)

Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

Also Read: Team India Wins Melbourne Match By 7 Wickets, Series By 2-1

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.