Virat Kohli acknowledged as captain of Cricket Australia’s ODI Team of the year

Melbourne/ Bhubaneswar: Indian men’s cricket team Captain Virat Kohli had a great 2018. Cricket Australia released the names which feature in their ODI team of the year. And Kohli was named the captain.

Also featuring in the ODI team are Indian vice-captain Rohit Sharma and bowlers Kuldeep Yadav and Jaspreet Bumrah.

Kohli has been the highest run-getter across all formats in international cricket in a calendar year. In the year 2016 he scored 2595 runs, in the year 2017 he got 2818 runs and finally in 2018 he amassed a total of 2735 runs. He averaged 133.55 in the 14 ODIs played in 2018. In last year alone, he scored six centuries and three half centuries.

Under the able leadership of Virat Kohli, India have ascended to the No. 1 Test ranking and held onto it with an iron grip while also reaching the joint top position in ODIs.

Vice-captain Rohit Sharma is in the team as an opener. England’s Jonny Bairstow partners with Rohit as the opening pair. Rohit had a brilliant year with scoring a brilliant 1,030 runs from 19 matches in 2018 with an average of 73.57.

Giving company to Kohli And Rohit will be teammates Yadav and Bumrah.

With a five-wicket haul in the home series against West Indies and 45 wickets in all, Yadav has shown great promise last year.

Bumrah has been the spearhead of India’s pace attack. He has taken 22 wickets from 13 matches with best bowling figures of 4-35 in 2018.

Also Read: Indian Cricket Captains End 2018 In A High

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.