Vijay Shankar makes his ODI debut as India face Australia in Melbourne

Melbourne: It is a historic day for allrounder Vijay Shankar as he makes his One-Day International (ODI) debut for India in the 3rd and final match against Australia at Melbourne Cricket Ground today. He was included in the team in the place of Hardik Pandya.

Indian coach Ravi Shastri handed the allrounder from Tamil Nadu his maiden cap in front of the team. He will replace Mohammed Siraj.

Apart from Siraj, India made two more changes. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kedar Jadhav have been included in the playing XI by replacing Kuldeep Yadav and Ambati Rayudu respectively.

With debut, Vijay Shankar became 226th ODI player to play for India.

The winner of the match will win the Gillette ODI Series series. However, it would be a history for the visitors if they win it as they have never won a bilateral ODI series in Australia.

Here are the playing XI:

IND XI: Rohit, Dhawan, Kohli(c), Dhoni(w), Jadhav, DK, Shankar, Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar, Shami, Chahal

AUS XI: A Finch, A Carey, U Khawaja, S Marsh, P Handscomb, M Stoinis, G Maxwell, J Richardson, P Siddle, A Zampa, B Stanlake

Also Read: Khelo India: Odisha To Face Haryana For Men’s U-21 Hockey Gold

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.