The news is by your side.

Saina becomes first India woman shuttler to win Indonesia Masters Championship


Jakarta: Saina Nehwal created history as she became the first India women shuttler to win the Indonesia Masters badminton tournament here on Sunday.

Saina was crowned champion of the Indonesia Masters 2019 after her final opponent Carolina Marin pulled out of the final due to an injury. The Spanish shuttler twisted her right knee after landing awkwardly following a smash in the first game itself.

Marin, the reigning Olympic champion and three-time world champion, was leading 10-4 before she pulled out of the mega final.

Saina was the runner-up in the 2018 edition of the Indonesia Masters.

Meanwhile, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated Saina for her historic achievement.

Also Read: Novak Djokovic Clinches Australian Open Title

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.