No players from Odisha in Indian men’s hockey squad for Asian Champions Trophy

Bhubaneswar: None of the players from Odisha have been included in the final squad of Indian Hockey team announced for the upcoming Asian Champions Trophy.

Midfielder Manpreet Singh has been named as the captain of the 18-member squad which was announced by the Hockey India for the continental tournament.

Notably, Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas of Odisha, who were in the men’s national hockey team which won a bronze medal in the recently held Asian Games, were also left out for the Asian Championship to be held to be held in Muscat from October 18. The reason behind their exclusion is yet to be known.

The news has not gone well with the sports lovers of the state as it is hosting the Men’s Hockey World Cup from November 28 to December 16. Besides, the Odisha government is the sponsor of the Indian National Hockey Team for five years.


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (Captain), Sumit Nilakanta Sharma Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice Captain).

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Jarmanpreet Singh, Hardik Singh.

Forwards: Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh.

Also Read: AR Rahman, Gulzar To Create Official Song Of Men’s Hockey World Cup-2018

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.