MI clinch IPL for 4th time by beating arch-rivals CSK

Hyderabad: Mumbai Indians (MI) claimed the coveted IPL 2019 title by beating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by one run. The thrilling finale was being played at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium here on Sunday.

MI captain Rohit Sharma decided to bat first after winning the toss but could only contribute 15 runs to Mumbai’s total. With this victory, Rohit has now become the most successful player in the history of the tournament, having won the title five times.

CSK needed nine runs off the last over but experienced Lasith Malinga kept his nerve to concede just eight. He trapped Shardul Thakur leg before in the last ball after Watson (80 off 59) got run out two balls earlier.

Malinga taken around the grounds on Pollard's shoulder in IPL 2019 finals
Courtesy: CricBuzz

Before that Jasprit Bumrah kept Mumbai on its toes with his tidy overs and two wickets, getting rid of Dwayne Bravo and Ambati Rayadu.

The IPL Season 12 MI won the IPL trophy for the fourth time and got a reward of 20 crores. Chennai Super Kings being the Runner-Up team got 12.5 crore rupees as a reward.

Coming to other awards, Australian batsman David Warner was crowned with the Orange cap and he got a reward of Rs 10 lakhs. Warner played 12 matches this season and scored 692 runs at an average of 69.20. It included one century and eight half-centuries.

David Warner was crowned with the Orange cap
Courtesy: Twitter

CSK’s Imran Tahir took 26 wickets and the Purple Cap. He received 10 lakhs prize money.

KKR’s Shubhaman Gill turned Emerging Player, got 10 lakhs prize.

MI’s Hardik Pandya got the award for the fastest half-century, got 10 lakh rupees. There was a half-century in 17 balls. Pandya’s teammate Kieron Pollard won the catch of the season award, prize – Rs 10 lakh.

MI’s Hardik Pandya got the award for the fastest half-century
Courtesy: Twitter

KKR’s Andre Russell, who scored the most 52 sixes, received the Super Striker award. Russell was also awarded Most Valuable Player and he also got the Harrier car.

Punjab’s K. L. Rahul was chosen as the most stylish cricketer, the reward – Rs 10 lakh.

Putting another feather in the cap for MI, Rahul Chahar got the game changer of the season award, reward – Rs 10 lakh

Also Read: IPL 2019 Finals: Chennai Super Kings to face Mumbai Indians challenge

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.