India becomes Champion of Taiwan International Gateball Championship-2018

Miaoli (Taiwan): The Indian Gateball Team today became champion of the Taiwan International Gateball Championship-2018, held between 26th to 28th October at Miaoli, Taiwan.

Indian Gateball Union had sent the Odisha Gateball team, who are the National Champions. The team consisted of five players; Satish Prusty, Ranjan Kumar Patra, Biswaranjan Mishra, Dwaipayan Pattanaik, Niranjan Mangaraj, and manager and Sanjib Kumar Parida.

The team played superbly by going upto the quarterfinals in the team event and winning the first prize in the triples event.

Although the Indian team had earlier won championships at Bali in 2010 and Thailand in 2012, after a gap of six years, again they have shown their supremacy in the game.

The players are scheduled to come back on 30th October to Bhubaneswar. As the players are from Bhubaneswar, The gateball lovers of Bhubaneswar have prepared to give them a warm reception.

To spread the Gateball game among the masses, it has been decided by the Indian Gateball Union (IGU) that this year the Indian Open Gateball Tournament shall be held on 22nd – 23rd December 2018 at Bhubaneswar, for which teams from China, Australia, Europe, Taiwan, Macau, Japan, Thailand and Indonesia have confirmed to participate.

Also Read:  Asia U-18 Rugby Championship: India Beats UAE 22-5 In The Inaugural Match

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.