India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in 3rd ODI, seal series 3-0

Mount Maunganui: In a one-sided contest, India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the third One Day International (ODI) of the five match ODI series at the Bay Oval here on Monday.

Chasing 244 to win, Indian batsmen led by Rohit Sharma’s 62 off 114 balls and skipper Virat Kohli’s 60 from 74 seal the deal with 42 balls to spare.

Dinesh Karhik and AT Rayudu remained unbeaten at 38 and 40 respectively. Sikhar Dhawan made 27.

With this win, India sealed the series three-nil with two matches to go.

BCCI took Twitter route to share the victory of Men in Blue.

Earlier, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bat first. The Kiwis made 243 in 49 overs. Ross Taylor was the highest run contributor with 93, while Tom Latham scored 51 for the home team.

For India, Mohammed Shami bagged 3 wickets while Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Hardik Pandya took 2 each.

Shami was adjudged Player of the match today. The fourth ODI will be played at Hamilton on Thursday.

Also Read: Hardik Pandya Returns To India’s Playing XI

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.