India eyes T20 World Cup trophy after 17 years, to clash with South Africa today

The Indian cricket team is aiming to lift the ICC T20 World Cup trophy after nearly 17 years. India is all set to clash to South Africa in today’s match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 finals at Kensington Oval Barbados. The match will begin at 8.00 pm Indian Standard Time (IST).

It is worth mentioning here that India last lifted the T20 World Cup trophy on 2007 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. During the T20 WC 2007, the Blue team played against its all time rival Pakistan and won by five runs.

Meanwhile, if India wins this year, it will be after 11 years that the team will lift an ICC trophy. Last time, in 2013 India won Champions Trophy by defeating England. Before that India had won ICC Cricket World Cup in 2011 after defeating Sri Lanka.

All eyes are on today’s match as the whole nation have high hopes from the team. Notably, India have not lost a single match in T20 WC 2024. The Blue team defeated England in Semi-finals to enter into finals by 68 runs.

At the same time, South Africa defeated Afghanistan in the semi-finals by 9 wickets while 67 balls were left. It is worth noting that, this the first time that South Africa has entered into the finals of T20 World Cup.

Possible Playing XI 

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi/Ottneil Baartman

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: India Enter Finals After Defeating England By 68 Runs

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.