IND Vs WI 2nd Test: India win by 10 wickets to clinch 2-match series 2-0


Hyderabad: India beat West Indies by 10 wickets by the end of Day three of the second Test here at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium on Sunday.

With this win, India clinched 2-match series 2-0 and registered their 10th consecutive win at home.

West Indies, which began the second innings with a trail of 56 runs, lost their openers Kraigg Brathwaite and Kieran Powell, who departed back without scoring a run, to Indian bowlers Umesh Yadav and Ravichandran Ashwin, respectively.

After losing their openers, the partnership of 45 runs between Shimron Hetmyer and Shai Hope didn’t last long as spinner Kuldeep Yadav took his tenth wicket of the series by dismissing Hetmyer (17), who gave a simple catch to Cheteshwar Pujara. Meanwhile, spinner Ravindra Jadeja in the same line on off stump ceased Hope (28).

Struggling to retain wickets, bewildered Windies by this time were left in plight. India quickly bundled out the remaining batsmen as inswinger Umesh Yadav sent back Roston Chase (6) and wicket-keeper Shane Dowrich at the duck.

Windies captain Jason Holder (19) didn’t seem worried until India reviewed Ravindra Jadeja’s ultra-edge, which turned out to be enough for the third umpire to overturn the on-field decision and send Holder back to pavilion. Jadeja didn’t stop here; he went onto leg stump solid-looking Sunil Ambris (38) after Windies’s review call.

After Ambris’s fall, Ashwin displayed a subtle off stump and sent Jomel Warrican (7) back, while Umesh Yadav accounted Shannon Gabriel (1) recording his first ten-wicket haul in Tests and put an end to yet another terrible session of West Indies at 127 runs.

Kalinga TV is now on WhatsApp. Join today to get latest Updates

India at this time just required another 72 runs post innings break.

To wrap the game up quickly, Indian openers Prithvi Shaw (33 not out) and Lokesh Rahul (33 not out) went onto hit a 50-run partnership.

Prithvi finished the game to steer India for a victory. India won the 2nd Test match by 10 wickets to clean sweep series by 2-0.

While Umesh Yadav was declared the Man of the Match, Prithvi Shaw got the Man of the series.

Here are some of the histories India made today:

  • Last three home series for India against WI, a debutant went on to win Man of the series:
    R Ashwin in 2011
    Rohit Sharma in 2013
    Prithvi Shaw in 2018
  • Man of the series on debut series:
    S Ganguly vs Eng, 1996
    J Rudolph vs Ban, 2003
    S Clark vs SA, 2006
    A Mendis vs Ind, 2008
    R Ashwin vs WI, 2011
    V Philander vs Aus, 2011
    J Pattinson vs NZ, 2011
    Rohit Sharma vs WI, 2013
    Mehedi Hasan vs Eng, 2016
    Prithvi Shaw v WI, 2018
  • Most consecutive Tests vs an opposition without a loss:
    47 Eng v NZ (1930-75)
    30 Eng v Pak (1961-82)
    29 WI vs Eng (1976-88)
    24 Aus v SA (1911-52)
    24 WI v Ind (1948-71)
    22 Pak v Ind (1980-99)
    22 Aus v NZ (1993-11)
    21 Ind v WI (2002-18)*
  • Winning most home series in succession:
    10 Aus (1994/95-2000/01)
    10 Aus (2004-2008/09)
    10 Ind (2012/13-present)
  • India’s last ten home series:
    Beat Aus 4-0, 2012/13
    Beat WI 2-0, 2013/14
    Beat SA 3-0, 2015/16
    Beat NZ 3-0, 2016/17
    Beat Eng 4-0, 2016/17
    Beat Ban 1-0, 2016/17
    Beat Aus 2-1, 2016/17
    Beat SL 1-0, 2017/18
    Beat Afg 1-0, 2018
    Beat WI 2-0, 2018/19
  • Ten wicket wins for India:
    vs Pak, Mumbai BS, 1952
    vs Pak, Chennai, 1980
    vs NZ, Hyderabad LBS, 1988
    vs Eng, Mohali, 2001
    vs Zim, Harare, 2005
    vs NZ, Hamilton, 2009
    vs Ban, Mirpur, 2010
    vs WI, Hyderabad RGS, 2018

Also Read: Asian Para Games: Jayanti Shines Again, Wins Silver Medal For India In 400m Sprint

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.